Your Site Title
University of Manchester XXI Club

85th Dinner - 2017


85th Annual XXI Club Dinner

14th October 2017
Manchester Hall, Manchester

Elections to the Club

Annual Elections

Charlotte Ainsworth, Ski/Snowboard
Adam Bowman, Mountaineering
Megan Clarkson, Football
Emma Cook, Ski/Snowboard
Ashley Hogg, Swimming
Tom Howdle, Swimming
Ed Hunt, Hockey
Eleanor Jones, Lacrosse
Ellie Lewis, Rowing
Ellen Lockhart, Hockey
Thomas Lush, Hockey
Anna Peters, Judo
Rowan Poots, Hockey
Charlie Reed, Rugby
William Rupp, Mountaineering
Asher Silverman, Football
Chelsey Taylor, Judo
Pooja Vadha, Taekwondo
Mate Vida, Judo
Olivia Wimpenny, Lacrosse
Peter Zelinka, Boat

Special Elections

Graham Edwards, Services to University Football

Service Excellence

Joss Bennett, Cycling
David Bentham, Boat
Thomas Davies, Boat
Joseff Edwards, Rugby
Jacob Hathorn, Ski/Snowboard
Emily Hogg, Gymnastics
Jason Hui, Badminton
Alexandra Kendall Smith, Cycling
Tom Lewis, Cycling
Ross McDermott, American Football
Rebecca Noel, Waterpolo
Alice Peachey, Boat
Ed Potter, Basketball
Emily Powell, Ski & Squash
Manila Sanchez, Volleyball
William Bland, Boat
Jacob Snowden, Swimming
Eng Sucharittanonta, Golf
Maddie Taylor, Ski/Snowboard
Robert Willcocks, Canoe


Darren Harris

Darren Harris is a two-time Paralympian who competed for Great Britain in judo at Beijing 2008 and football at London 2012. Ever since being diagnosed with cancer in both eyes aged 15 months, he has continued to beat the odds, becoming the most decorated blind footballer in British history.

Darren now runs his own business helping others succeed by adding that missing ingredient called confidence. As an athlete mentor, he draws on the unique insight his 20 years’ experience in elite sport has given him, as well as the team of top performing athletes he has engaged with.

He also works with the Dame Kelly Holmes Trust on the Young Leaders Programme and National Citizens Service. This work encourages young people to do something beneficial within their communities. Darren cites a handful of people who have made a great contribution to his success and hopes he will be able to inspire others to make similarly positive changes in their lives.



Jack Smith Cup - Georgia Hallet, Ski and Snowboard and Tom Lush, Hockey
Jubilee Cup - Netball
Freshers Cup - Naomi Ogbeta, Athletics

Election of Officers to the Committee

President: Mark Palios
Chairman: Helen Fairclough
Hon Treasurer: Roger Horsfield
Keeper of the Records: Paul Gallagher
Newsletter Editor: Chris Paul
Committee Members: Marisa Galea, Andrew Cowan, Brian Solomon, Danny Herman, Fabienne Johnson, Hamish McInnes, Jemima Killick, Nuria Bonet, Rowena Birch, Shaden Jaradat, Tom Thatcher

Chairman's Report from AGM